Brushing up on my history.

This morning i have spent most of my time learning a little bit of Met history.
As a relatively new Mets fan i thought it would be good to learn a bit more. So today i managed to get MLB.TV Baseball Best package. I’m currently watching game 5 of the 1969 world series. (amazin pardon the pun) and will be followed by 1986 game 6.
I have learnt is that i’m so disappointed that i never did make it to Shea and that despite not being alive for one world series win and only 5 for the other one, i’m still filled with pride when watching these videos. I got chills and teary eyed when the field got stormed by fans in 69. Its so clear why these players have become legends in their own right.

So i decided to do a bit more research and read more books. So far i have only read Faith and Fear in Flushing, which was a fantastic personal account of a Mets fan. If anyone can recommend any other books to read then let me know!

4 thoughts on “Brushing up on my history.

  1. I recently got the Baseball’s Best package, and for pretty much the same reasons. I haven’t had time to take full advantage yet, but I have to say having access to that many games for that price is a real bargain.

    I’m midway through Fear and Faith in Flushing and really enjoying it. Next on my Mets list is probably The Bad Guys Won by Jeff Pearlman, an account of the 1986 team.

    As for Shea Stadium – I made it there for my one and only live Mets game. Glad I got to see it, if only the once. Hopefully I’ll get to Citi Field in the next few years!

    • Yeah i have seen some good reviews about The Bad guys Won might have to read that. I really liked Fear and Faith, personal accounts of the Mets are great especially when it covered most of the decades.
      Citi Field is a really great stadium although to be fair i haven’t been to any other so can’t compare. Still love it though. Just debating which seats to get, whether to stick to what i know or max out and buy behind the dugout seats. My heart is saying do it but my bank account is saying hell no!

  2. I also recommend The Bad Guys Won. It’s a very easy read and has some neat stories in it. If you want to go all the way back, Jimmy Breslin’s Can’t Anybody Here Play This Game is really good. It’s the story of the team’s first season and features a lot of Casey Stengel stories. Also, Peter Golenbock’s Amazin: The Miraculous History of New York’s Most Beloved Team is also good, but I’d read the other two first. I attached links to Amazon below.

    By the way, I like your blog so far. Keep up the good work!

    http://www.amazon.com/Cant-Anybody-Here-Play-This/dp/1566634881

Leave a Reply

